Thoughts from Spring 2011 class

There are only a couple of weeks left in the spring 2011 class and some amazing work is being created here on the Finding the Light workshop. I (Gail) thought it would be fun to hear from a few participants on the class and see what they have been coming up with. It is always such a thrill to see each photographer take what they are learning and apply it to their work and blossom beyond our wildest imaginations. Here is a taster of students ‘Finding the Light’.  Well done guys, it’s been a pleasure to watch you grow -g xoxo

Sunny Wright

“This class has helped rejuvenate my love and passion for photography. It has helped me to step out of my comfort zone, experiment and to see the light in a whole new way. I remember now, why I got in this business in the first place.”

Chris Henning

“I’m loving this class, the assignments are challenging, fun and it’s really pushing me to get out of my comfort zone of underexposing to find that light.  I never would have taken images of anyone in full sun before.  It’s such a nice feeling to feel confident of taking pictures in any lighting situation.  What I’m learning will really help me since I travel to different locations for my clients.  Now, I don’t have to stay in open shade for all of my sessions.  I also love all the support from everyone, it’s a wonderful feeling to get feedback from others, both postive and constructive.”

Steph Baliff

“I am now in my third session of “Finding the Light” and I am still learning! I look at photos that I did a month ago and think about things I never would have considered at that point. There are so many layers to this class and Detra is such an inspiration. I would highly recommend this class to anyone looking to push their creativity and photography to the next level!!! Highly!!”

Steph BailiffSteph Bailiff - natural light workshop
Steph Bailiff, natural light workshop

Toni Raper

“I truly feel confident taking pictures at any time during the day now and have learnt to ‘see the light’ in ways I just couldn’t before this workshop started.
Cheers!”
Toni Raper Natural light workshop
“This workshop has been amazing. I was a little hesitant to take it since it is an online workshop and I learn much better when someone shows me something than when I just have to read about it. But all the videos and virtual classes have been so great in helping me to understand the concepts. I used to shoot only in open shade, but now I feel so much more confident shooting in different types of light and during different times of day. Detra does a wonderful job explaining exactly what to do to get best results in all types of light.”
Elise SLeeman, natural light workshop
 Maureen O’Shay
“I can’t say enough about this class! Detra has opened my eyes to the light and color around me and I really appreciate it so much more than I did before. I am able to capture memories in such an artful way now. Love this class!!” 

Amy Lucy of Amy Lucy Photography

“I realized early in my photography journey that images with beautiful and creative use of light are the ones that move me the most. So taking Detra’s class was a easy choice for me, and now I am joining again this spring as an alumni student. I can honestly say that I use the knowledge learned in Detra’s class on a daily basis. I use her techniques in every session I do for a client as well as when taking pictures of my own children playing in our yard. I see light differently now, I approach photography in a new way, and my editing skills have improved.

Beyond learning all about natural light and how to make it work to my advantage, there are numerous creative assignments that have pushed me to think about photography in clever and artistic ways. There is a lot amount of technical information, but there are also assignments that are creatively challenging. I am so thankful to Detra and her wonderful assistants Jenny and Gail for sharing such a wealth of knowledge and helping me grow as a photographer.”

Amy Lucy Photography, natural light photographer

 Amy Lucy - backlighting, natural light workshop

Amy Lucy Photography, natural light workshop
Amy Lucy Photography, natural light workshop

Dawn Damori
“When reading reviews about this workshop before signing up, more than once I read the words, “It transformed my photography.” I didn’t understand what that meant…until experiencing it for myself. It has transformed my photography!! Prior to this class, I always looked for the safety of open shade. I didn’t realize how much more dynamic my images could be simply by finding the right light. I now feel confident shooting in full sun and being able to find the right light in any situation to capture beautiful images. The assignments are challenging, yet fun. The forum has brought together an amazing group of gifted photographers who are willing to share openly and teach each other. Detra is readily available to give constructive feedback and answer questions. I can’t believe how many people come back and do this workshop again. Before I enrolled myself, the idea of participating in the same workshop twice seemed silly, but now I understand why…there is so much to learn about finding the light.”

Dawn DamoriDawn Damori - natural light workshop

Monika Eisenbart

“Since taking Detra’s workshop, I have learned to see light in completely different way. Possibilities are endless”.

Andrea Ferenchik

“I have really loved this workshop so far. I am seeing light everywhere, whether it is the signage in the Victoria’s Secret window (hmmm, that looks like my dramatic lighting assignment), to the blownout look I never realized how they achieved, to the way the light is shining in my kids eyes, I see it everywhere! I have learned not only different techniques to capture light but also how to position my subject in the most flattering way and what to look out for based on both the critique from Detra and the critique from others and of other’s assignments. I signed up when it came with an alumni spot and I can’t wait to take it again even though I am only 1/2way through the first time. I would highly, highly recommend the class. I am using it even in my “everyday” photos and capturing amazing pictures at swim meets, out at the lake, etc. I couldn’t be a more pleased customer.”

Valeria Spring

“I have no words to describe how thankful I am to Detra for teaching us all of these priceless techniques. I’m in love with light and this workshop is giving me all the tools to be able to shoot on any type of light at any time of the day. Love the inspiration I get in here so much as well and can’t wait to keep learning during the next few weeks.”

2 Responses

  1. WOW! It’s definitely making me want to take the course again! I agree with every statement!! Beautiful work, ladies!

  2. Can’t wait till next session to take the workshop again. All these images are crazy inspirational!

Leave a Reply

